TVH Awards

Foxhunting is not competitive in the way of horse shows or other sports. The essence of foxhunting can be found in the enjoyment of good sport, camaraderie among friends, and preservation of an outdoor lifestyle.  Therefore, bestowing awards is looked upon by the Masters as a dubious honor. By recognizing some, we do not wish to diminish the contributions of others. Certainly, in foxhunting, we are all winners! However, each season, individual subscribers, horses or hounds will stand out. So, in a spirit of good will, awards are given and many are recognized for their contributions.


The highest honor bestowed upon individuals by the Masters is the awarding of the Colors of the Hunt. This award is presented to those who demonstrate competency in the hunt field, who consistently support the club by serving on or chairing committees, who provide services to the Hunt, and who are deemed worthy by the Masters. This is a significant honor.  Subscribers with colors are expected to accept leadership roles.  They promote the hunt and encourage and assist newcomers. Responsibility does not end with the award of colors; on the contrary, that is where it begins! Once you are awarded colors, the Masters will look to you for support above and beyond the demands of subscription. We hope you consider this action a compliment!


In addition to Colors of the Hunt, other awards include:

  • Hunt Horse of the Year - for the horse who exemplifies the very best qualities of a field hunter: respectful of hounds and other horses,  a bold and careful jumper. Never kicks or causes incidents. Carries his or her rider safely in all conditions, a pleasure to ride, the horse everyone wishes to own.
  • Heart of the Hunt - awarded to the person or persons who give to the hunt for the love of hunting and sport, who are selfless in their promotion of foxhunting, who are dedicated to TVHC and demonstrate their commitment through actions that perpetuate our sport.
  • Teenie Hayworth Horsemanship Award - perpetual trophy donated by Mary Sue Younger and Jim Schmidhammer, ex-MFH, in honor of their dear friend Teenie Hayworth, who, herself represents the finest qualities of good horsemanship-a thoughtful and skilled rider who rides with confidence and skill, whose horses are well turned out, beautifully trained, and represent the best of the sport.
  • Keenest Foxhunter - awarded to the avid foxhunter who passionately pursues the sport with zest and enthusiasm, always present, always positive--a committed and dedicated subscriber. This perpetual trophy was created by the late Rupert Knierim, himself a keen foxhunter of the very best sort.
  • Brownie Marsh Sustenance (“Feast and Founder") Award - a perpetual trophy donated by one of our favorite chefs, Brownie Marsh. Awarded to the person or persons who are dedicated to fine dining and whose contributions to the hunt contribute to our celebratory feasting.
  • Best Turned-Out (new in 2010) - Awarded by Joint Masters Rosemarie and Grosvenor Merle-Smith to the individual whose pride in appearance, correctness  and turn-out of horse and rider create a positive image of TVH, both at home and when visiting other hunts.
  • Hound Hall of Fame - awarded to the TVH hound whose hunting ability, drive, voice  and conformation define the best of the Penn-Marydel breed; an exemplary  hound that is faithful and trusted by the huntsman and masters.
  • Dedication Award - presented by the Masters to the TVH Subscriber whose dedication to TVH is over the top -and whose actions and commitment to the success of the hunt are exemplary in every way.
  • Future of the Hunt - awarded to the Junior Subscriber whose love of hunting and commitment to good sportsmanship and horsemanship demonstrate all the best qualities of a future leader and supporter of the Tennessee Valley Hunt
  • Appreciation Award - a special honor, presented to the individual whose unselfish service to the hunt characterizes all that is best about foxhunters and hunting.